10 monuments adopted under ‘Adopt A Heritage’ project

10 monuments adopted under ‘Adopt A Heritage’ project


Ten monuments have been adopted under the central government’s ‘Adopt A Heritage’ project


About Adopt a Heritage: Apni Dharohar, Apni Pehchaan scheme

  • Launched in September, 2017, was a collaborative effort by the Ministry of Tourism, Ministry of Culture and Archaeological Survey of India (ASI), states and Union territories.
  • No fund is given by Ministry of Tourism. The Project envisages involvement of Private/Public Companies / Organizations and Individuals to adopt Monuments, Natural Heritage Sites and in the country, primarily under CSR.
  • Archaeological Survey of India has identified 100 monuments as ‘Adarsh Smarak‘ for upgradation of existing facilities
  • Site Selection Procedure
    • The sites/monument are selected on the basis of tourist footfall and visibility and can be adopted by private and public sector companies and individuals — known as Monument Mitras for an initial period of five years.
    • The Monument Mitras are selected by the ‘oversight and vision committee,’ co-chaired by the Tourism Secretary and the Culture Secretary, on the basis of the bidder’s ‘vision’ for development of all amenities at the heritage site.
    • There is no financial bid involved. The corporate sector is expected to use corporate social responsibility (CSR) funds for the upkeep of the site.
    • The Monument Mitras, in turn, will get limited visibility on the site premises and on the Incredible India website.
  • The oversight committee also has the power to terminate a memorandum of understanding in case of non-compliance or non-performance.
  • The Adopt a Heritage is essentially a non-revenue generating project.
  • The project primarily focuses on providing basic amenities that include cleanliness, public conveniences, safe drinking water, ease of access for tourists, illumination and Wi-Fi.

The priority areas of Programme are listed as under:

  • Developing basic tourism infrastructure.
  • Promoting cultural and heritage value of the country to generate livelihoods in the identified regions;
  • Enhancing the tourist attractiveness in a sustainable manner by developing world-class infrastructure at the heritage monument sites;
  • Creating employment and economic development; through active involvement of local communities;

Additional Facts:

  • About Archaeological Survey of India (ASI)
    • Under the Ministry of Culture, is the premier organization for the archaeological researches and protection of the cultural heritage of the nation
    • It also regulates Antiquities and Art Treasure Act, 1972
    • Established in 1861 by Alexander Cunningham.
    • It regulates all archaeological activities as per the provisions of the Ancient Monuments and Archaeological Sites and Remains Act, 1958.

Other Government projects to help maintain tourist sites and monuments

  • National Cultural Fund:
    • The National Culture Fund (NCF) was created as a Trust in November 2011.
    • Under the Ministry of Culture, aims at inviting the participation of the Corporate Sector, Non-Government agencies, State Governments, Private/Public Sector and individuals in the task of promoting, protecting and preserving India’s cultural heritage both tangible and intangible.
  • Campaign Clean India
    • Under the scheme the government had identified 120 monuments/destinations.
    • The India Tourism Development Corporation had adopted Qutub Minar as a pilot project in 2012, while ONGC adopted six monuments — Ellora Caves, Elephanta Caves, Golkonda Fort, Mamallapuram , Red Fort and Taj Mahal — as part of its CSR.

Cultural Policy of India:

  • India has no cultural policy because of the disjointed manner in which the issue is addressed.
  • For example, the intangible cultural heritage of acrobatic performance is perceived as a circus art is addressed by the Ministry of Sports.
  • While tangible heritage such as monuments come under the Ministry of Culture,
  • The very skills, processes and crafts that create the buildings come under the Ministry of Textiles.
  • Another anomaly is that while heritage (monochrome as built monuments) is on the state list, tourism does not feature in the state, Union or concurrent list.
Print Friendly and PDF