Four More Biodiversity Heritage Sites For Karnataka

News: Karnataka Biodiversity Board has decided to declare four more areas in the State as biodiversity heritage sites.


  • What are the four areas? The four areas declared as biodiversity heritage sites are:
    • Antaragange Betta in Kolar
    • Aadi Narayana Swamy Betta in Chickballapur
    • Mahima Ranga Betta in Nelamangala,Bengaluru and
    • Urumbi area on the Kumaradhara river basin in Dakshina Kannada.

Additional Facts:

  • Biodiversity heritage sites(BHS): These are considered as unique and fragile ecosystems that can be marine ecosystems, coastal and inland waters, or terrestrial areas.
  • Criteria:
    • Richness of wild as well as domesticated species or intra-specific categories.
    • High endemism.
    • Presence of rare and threatened species, keystone species, species of evolutionary significance.
    • Wild ancestors of domestic/cultivated species or their varieties.
    • Past pre-eminence of biological components represented by fossil beds and having significant cultural, ethical or aesthetic values are important for the maintenance of cultural diversity with or without a long history of human association with them.
  • Who notifies BHS? Under Section-37 of Biological Diversity Act, 2002 the State Government in consultation with local bodies may notify areas of biodiversity importance as Biodiversity Heritage Sites(BHS).
Print Friendly and PDF