Govt names winners of Gandhi Peace Prize

Govt names winners of Gandhi Peace Prize

PT facts


Govt Announces Gandhi Peace Prize Winner For 2015-18 After 4-Year Gap


  • The prize was last conferred to the Indian Space Research Organisation in 2014.

About Gandhi Peace Prize

  • It is given to individuals and institutions for their contribution towards social, economic and political transformation through non-violence and other Gandhian methods.
  • The award was instituted in 1995 during the commemoration of 125th Birth Anniversary of Mahatma Gandhi and is to be given annually.
  • The award was jointly given in 2000 to Nelson Mandela and Grameen Bank of Bangladesh.
  • In 2018 the prize was given to Yohei Sasakawa, for effort towards Leprosy Elimination.
  • For 2017, the award is given to Ekai Abhiyan Trust for their contribution to education for rural and tribal children.
Print Friendly, PDF & Email

Free IAS Preparation by Email

Enter your email address to subscribe to the blog followed by several Rankholders and ensure success in IAS.