I-T Dept issues three email IDs for registering grievances

Source: Indian Express

What is the News?

​​The Income Tax (I-T) Department has notified three official email IDs to register grievances, under the Faceless e-Assessment Scheme.

About Faceless e-Assessment Scheme.
  • The Income Tax Department in 2019 has rolled out the faceless e-assessment scheme that eliminates physical interface between the taxpayer and the Income Tax (I-T) Department.
  • Aim: To promote an efficient and effective tax administration, minimizing physical interface, increasing accountability and introduction of team-based assessments
Key Features of Faceless e-Assessment Scheme
  • Selection of a taxpayer only through system using data analytics and AI
  • Abolition of territorial jurisdiction
  • Automated random allocation of cases
  • Central issuance of notices with Document Identification No. (DIN)
  • No physical interface, no need to visit the income tax office
  • Team-based assessments and team-based review
  • Draft assessment order in one city, review in another city and finalisation in the third city.

What are cases exempted from the Faceless e-Assessment?

Cases relating to:
  • Serious frauds, major tax evasion, sensitive & search matters
  • International tax
  • Black Money Act and Benami Property.
Print Friendly and PDF