Implementation of “National Cyclone Risk Mitigation Project(NCRMP)”

What is the News?

The government of India has informed the Lok Sabha about the implementation of the National Cyclone Risk Mitigation Project(NCRMP).

About National Cyclone Risk Mitigation Project(NCRMP):

  • Firstly, it was launched by the Ministry of Home Affairs with the support of the World Bank. It addresses the cyclone risks in the country.
  • Secondly, its aim is to undertake suitable structural and non-structural measures to mitigate the effects of cyclones in the coastal states and UTs of India.
  • Thirdly, its objectives are:
    • Improving early warning dissemination systems
    • Enhancing the capacity of local communities to respond to disasters
    • Improving access to emergency shelter, evacuation, and protection against wind storms, flooding, and storm surge in high areas
    • Strengthening Disaster Risk Management(DRM) capacity at central, state, and local levels.
  • Implementation: National Disaster Management Authority(NDMA) in coordination with participating State Governments and the National Institute for Disaster Management (NIDM).
  • Coverage: The Project has identified 13 cyclone-prone States and Union Territories(UTs) with varying levels of vulnerability. These States/UT have further been classified into two categories:
    • Category I: Higher vulnerability States namely Andhra Pradesh, Gujarat, Odisha, Tamil Nadu, and West Bengal.
    • Category II: Lower vulnerability States i.e. Maharashtra, Karnataka, Kerala, Goa, Pondicherry, Lakshadweep, Daman and Diu, Andaman, and the Nicobar Islands.

Source: PIB

Print Friendly and PDF