“INS Karanj” – the Scorpene-class submarine inducted into service

What is the news?

Indian Navy inducted INS Karanj into service. It is a 3rd Scorpene-class conventional diesel-electric submarine.

About INS Karanj:

  • INS Karanj is a part of Project-75I. It is the 3rd submarine of the first batch of 6 Scorpene-class submarines under the project, for the Indian Navy.
  • Designed by: French naval defence and energy group.
  • Manufactured by:  Mazagon Dock Limited, an Indian shipyard in Mumbai.
  • Earlier Version: The previous INS Karanj (a Russian-origin submarine) was commissioned in 1969 at Riga in the erstwhile USSR. It served the nation for 34 years up to 2003.

Key Features of INS Karanj:

  • INS Karanj is equipped with the best sensors in the world. Furthermore, it is fitted with an integrated platform management system to provide centralised propulsion and machinery control.
  • The powerful diesel engines can quickly charge batteries for a stealthy mission profile.
  • It is also fitted with a permanent magnetic synchronous motor. It makes it one of the quietest submarines in the world.

What are Scorpene-Class Submarines?

  • Scorpene-class submarines are one of the most advanced conventional submarines in the world.
  • Features of Scorpene Submarines:
    • They have superior stealth features, such as; advanced silencing techniques, low radiated noise levels, and the ability to attack with precision-guided weapons on board.
    • They can also launch crippling attacks on the surface and underwater enemy targets.
  • Purpose: The Indian Navy intends to use these submarines for missions such as area surveillance, intelligence gathering, anti-submarine warfare, anti-surface warfare, and minelaying operations.
  • Speed: They can travel at a maximum submerged speed of approximately 20 knots and have the ability to remain submerged for 21 days. It has a diving depth of more than 350m.

About Project 75I:

  • The Project 75I is a program by the Indian Navy for building six Scorpene-Class attack submarines.
  • Six Submarines:
    • The first submarine is INS Kalvari. It was commissioned in 2017
    • The second is INS Khanderi. It was commissioned in 2019.
    • The fourth and fifth submarines are INS Vela and INS Vagir. They are undergoing sea trials.
    • The sixth is INS Vaghseer. It is in an advanced stage of outfitting.

 Source: Indian Express


“INS Viraat” – SC ordered a status quo on dismantling

Print Friendly and PDF