Learn about Election Commission of India

About Election commission:

  • It operates under Article 324 of the Constitution.
  • It is a permanent constitutional body.
  • ·Originally the commission consist only a Chief Election Commissioner.  Presently it consists of Chief Election Commissioner and two Election Commissioners.
  • ·The Constitution of India has vested in the Election Commission of India the superintendence direction and control of the entire process of conduct of elections to Parliament and Legislature of every State and to the offices of Parliament and Vice-President of India.

Functions of Election Commission:

  • ·To hold free and fair elections in the Country.
  • ·Allows symbols to the political parties.
  • ·Give recognition to the national parities, state parties, and regional parties.
  • It sets limits on poll expenses.
  • Prepare electoral rolls and update voters list time to time.
  • Notification of dates and schedules for the election for filling nominations.

Current updates:

  • ·Election Commissioner Achal Kumar Joti has been appointed the next Chief Election Commissioner of India.
  • ·He will succeed current CEC Nasim Zaidi
  • ·Joti will take charge as CEC on July 6
  • · Joti will be overseeing state Assembly elections in Gujarat and Himachal Pradesh before demitting office in January 2018.



Print Friendly and PDF