Monetary Policy Committee (MPC)

About: The Monetary Policy Committee (MPC) decides on key interest rates. It has six members—three central bank officials and three government nominees—headed by the RBI governor. It has the responsibility for fixing key policy rates (interest rates) in the country.

The MPC attempts to contain inflation and accordingly formulates monetary policy measures in order to influence interest rates.

Print Friendly and PDF