National Air Quality Index (AQI)

The AQI values and corresponding ambient concentrations (health breakpoints), as well as associated likely health impacts for the identified eight pollutants, are as follows: 

Ambient Air Quality Standards in India

The Air (Prevention and Control of Pollution) Act 1981 was enacted by the Central Government with the objective of arresting the deterioration of air quality.

The current National Ambient Air Quality Standards were notified on 18 November 2009 by the Central Pollution Control Board.

List of 12 pollutants  

  • Particulate Matter (size less than 10 µm) or (PM10),
  • Particulate Matter (size less than 2.5 µm) or (PM5),
  • Nitrogen Dioxide (NO2),
  • Sulphur Dioxide (SO2),
  • Carbon Monoxide (CO),
  • Ozone (O3),
  • Ammonia (NH3), and
  • Lead (Pb)
  • Benzene -C6H6
  • Benzo(a)Pyrene (BaP)
  • Arsenic (As)

Nickel (Ni)

Print Friendly and PDF