Parliamentary standing committee

About: Parliamentary Committees are of two kinds: Standing Committees and Ad hoc Committees. Parliamentary Standing Committees are permanent and regular committees which are constituted from time to time in pursuance of the provisions of an Act of Parliament or Rules of Procedure and Conduct of Business. The work of these Committees is of continuous nature.

Detail: Both Houses of Parliament, Rajya Sabha and Lok Sabha, have similar committee structures with a few exceptions. Their appointment, terms of office, functions and procedures of conducting business are broadly similar. These standing committees are elected or appointed every year, or periodically by the Chairman of the Rajya Sabha or the Speaker of the Lok Sabha, or as a result of consultation between them

Print Friendly and PDF