Q. A Realm is a continent or sub-continent-sized area with unifying features of geography and fauna & flora’. Which of the following is not one of eight recognized bio-geographic realms?

[A] Antarctic realm

[B] Oriental realm

[C] Australian realm

[D] Icelandic realm

Answer: D

Bio Geographic Realm

Bio geographic realms are large spatial regions within which ecosystems share a broadly similar biota.

Scholars have recognized eight Terrestrial biogeographic realms:

  • Nearctic realm
  • Neotropical realm
  • Palearctic realm
  • Indo-Malayan/Oriental realm
  • Afrotropical/Ethiopian realm
  • Oceania realm
  • Australian realm
  • Antarctic realm

Source: NCERT