Q. ‘Buddhacharita’ is written by which of the following?

[A] Kanishka

[B] Ashoka

[C] Ashvaghosha

[D] Vasumitra

Answer: C

Kanishka was the patron of Buddhist philosophers such as Asvaghosha, Parsva and Vasumitra, as well as the great Buddhist teacher Nagarjuna.  

  • Asvaghosha is known for his Buddhacharita and is celebrated as the author of the first Sanskrit play, Sariputraprakarana, in nine acts.  
  • The great dramatist Bhasa, whose plays were re-discovered only about a hundred years ago in South India, most probably belonged to this period.  
  • Among the Hindu treatises, we find the Manusmriti, Vatsyayana’s Kamasutra and Kautilya’s Arthasastra taking final shape by the second century CE. 

Source: Tamil Nadu state board.