Q. Consider the following pairs of ministers of Chalukyas:
1. Pradhana – Head Minister
2. Mahasandhi-vigrahika – Minister of Foreign Affairs
3. Samharta – Revenue Minister
Which of the above given pair is/are NOT correctly matched?

[A] 2 only

[B] 3 only

[C] 1 and 3 only

[D] 1 and 2 only

Answer: B

All powers were vested in the king. Inscriptions do not specifically speak of a council of ministers, but they do refer to an official called maha-sandhi-vigrahika.  

  • Four other categories of ministers are also referred to in the epigraphs: Pradhana (head minister), Mahasandhi-vigrahika (minister of foreign affairs), Amatya (revenue minister), and Samaharta (minister of exchequer).  
  • Chalukyas divided the state into political divisions for the sake of administration: Vishayam, Rastram, Nadu and Grama. 

Source: Tamil Nadu state board.