Q. Consider the following pairs of practices of Islam:
Term Meaning
1. Zakat – Giving alms
2. Shahada– One God
3. Hajj– Pilgrimage to Mecca
Which of the above given pair is/are correctly matched?

[A] 1 only

[B] 1 and 3 only

[C] 2 and 3 only

[D] 1, 2 and 3 only

Answer: B

The developments that followed the coming of Islam were not confined to ruling elites; in fact they permeated far and wide, through the subcontinent, amongst different social strata – peasants, artisans, warriors, merchants, to name a few. All those who adopted Islam accepted, in principle, the five “pillars” of the faith:  

  • that there is one God, Allah, and  
  • Prophet Muhammad is his messenger (shahada);  
  • offering prayers five times a day (namaz/salat );  
  • giving alms (zakat); fasting during the month of Ramzan (sawm); and  
  • Performing the pilgrimage to Mecca (hajj). 

Source: NCERT- Themes in Indian History.