Q. Consider the following pairs of terms related to Bahmani Kingdom:
1. Vakil-us-saltanalieutenant of the kingdom
2. KotwalMinister of Finance
3. Wasir-i-ashrafChief of Police
Which of the above given pair is/are correctly matched?

[A] 1 only

[B] 1 and 2 only

[C] 1 and 3 only

[D] 2 and 3 only

Answer: A

In order to facilitate smooth administration, as followed in the Delhi Sultanate, Bahman Shah divided the kingdom into four territorial divisions called tarafs, each under a governor.

Each governor commanded the army of his province (Gulbarga, Daulatabad, Bidar, and Berar) and was solely responsible for both its administration and the collection of revenue.

Mohammed I appointed a council of eight ministers of state:

  1. Vakil-us-saltana or lieutenant of the kingdom, the immediate subordinate of the sovereign.
  2. Waziri-kull, who supervised the work of all other ministers;
  3. Amir-i-jumla, minister of finance;
  4. Wasir-i-ashraf, minister of foreign affairs and master of ceremonies;
  5. Nazir, assistant minister for finance;
  6. Peshwa who was associated with the lieutenant of the kingdom;
  7. Kotwal or chief of police and city magistrate in the capital, and
  8. Sadr-i-jahan or chief justice and minister of religious affairs and endowments.

Source: Tamil Nadu state board.