Q. Consider the following statement about plate tectonic:
1. Juan De Fuca plate is present in Southern Atlantic Ocean.
2. Arabian Plate is oceanic plate.
3. Nazca plate is between South America and Pacific plate.
Which of the statements given above is/are not correct?

[A] 3 only

[B] 1 and 2 only

[C] 1 only

[D] 1, 2 and 3 only

Answer: B

Tectonic plates are gigantic segments of rock that are in constant motion relative to each other. They make up the lithosphere, which is the Earth‘s crust and mantle. Tectonic Plates consist of oceanic and continental crusts. Oceanic crust is made of seas and oceans while continental crust is made of the land mass. Tectonic Plates form either divergent, transform, or convergent boundaries when they come into contact. Volcanoes, rift-valleys, mountain ranges, and earthquakes are the results of the movement of tectonic plates in relation to each other and occur at their tectonic boundaries. The movement of tectonic plates is fueled by convection taking place due to the heat in the Earth‘s mantle. There are major and minor tectonic plates. There are a total of seven plates which cover nearly 95% of the world’s surface.

The seven major plates include the African, Antarctic, Eurasian, North American, South American, India-Australian, and the Pacific plates. Some of the minor plates include the Arabian, Caribbean, Nazca, Cocos, Jaun De Fuca, Caroline and Scotia plates.

Source: NCERT