Q. Consider the following statement regarding ASEAN (Association of Southeast Asian Nations):
1. It was established with the signing of the Bangkok Declaration.
2. Its founding countries are Indonesia, Myanmar, Philippines, Singapore and Thailand.
Which of the above statements is/are correct?

[A] 1 only

[B] 2 only

[C] Both 1 and 2

[D] Neither 1 nor 2

Answer: A
  • Statement 1 is correct 
  • Statement 2 is incorrect: its founding members are Malaysia, Indonesia, Philippines, Singapore and Thailand 

About ASEAN 

  • The Association of Southeast Asian Nations, or ASEAN, was established on 8 August 1967 in Bangkok, Thailand. 
  • It was established with the signing of an ASEAN Declaration (Bangkok Declaration) by the ministers of the founding countries. 
  • Its founding countries are Indonesia, Malaysia, Philippines, Singapore and Thailand. 
  • Eventually, Brunei Darussalam then joined on 7 January 1984, Vietnam on 28 July 1995, Lao PDR and Myanmar on 23 July 1997, and Cambodia on 30 April 1999, making up to ten Member States of ASEAN 

Source: The Hindu