Q. Consider the following statement regarding “National Wildlife Action Plan”:
1.First action plan was adopted in 2002.
2.Present action plan has 5 components and 17 themes.
Which of the statements given above is/are correct?

[A] 1 only

[B] 2 only

[C] Both 1 and 2

[D] Neither 1 nor 2

Answer: B

Explanation: The first National Wildlife Action Plan (NWAP) was adopted in 1983, based upon the decision taken in the XV meeting of the Indian Board for Wildlife held in 1982.

  • The first National Wildlife Action Plan (NWAP) of 1983 has been revised and the Wildlife Action Plan (2002- 2016) has been adopted.
  • India’s National Wildlife Action Plan (3rd NWAP) for the period 2017-2031 and Secure Himalaya were released on the occasion.
  • The Plan focuses on preservation of genetic diversity and sustainable development. The NWAP has five components, 17 themes, 103 conservation actions and 250 projects.
  • The five components are – strengthening and promoting the integrated management of wildlife and their habitats;
  • Adaptation to climate change and promoting integrated sustainable management of aquatic biodiversity in India; promoting eco-tourism, nature education and participatory management;
  • Strengthening wildlife research and monitoring of development of human resources in wildlife conservation and enabling policies and resources for conservation of wildlife in India.
  • The Plan will help to mainstream wildlife conservation in development planning processes.

Source: SHANKAR IAS Environment & https://pib.gov.in/PressReleasePage