Q. Consider the following statements:
1.Followers of Judaism have been granted minority community status in India.
2.States in India have the power to recognize any community as a minority community.
Which of the statements given above is/are correct?

[A] 1 only

[B] 2 only

[C] Both 1 and 2

[D] Neither 1 nor 2

Answer: B
  • Statement 1 is incorrect: Centre has notified the following six communities as minority communities in India – Muslims, Christians, Sikhs, Buddhists, Parsis and followers of Jainism.
  • Statement 2 is correct:States can have minorities notified as such within their jurisdiction. For instance: Maharashtra recognising Jews as a minority community and Karnataka recognising speakers of several languages as linguistic minorities.

Source: Article