Q. Consider the following statements regarding air quality index (AQI):
1.It is a color-coded index was launched in 2014.
2.There are six categories in AQI.
Which of the statements given above is/are correct?

[A] 1 only

[B] 2 only

[C] Both 1 and 2

[D] Neither 1 nor 2

Answer: C

Explanation: AQI is a number, which is a measure of air quality. The higher the AQI, the worse the air.

  • After staying above 450 for a couple of days, the AQI in Delhi on Sunday had come down to around 320.
  • The colour-coded AQI index was launched in India in 2014, and it helps the public and the government understands the condition of the air and what subsequent measures are to be taken to combat the situation, based on its severity.
  • There are six categories of AQI, namely ‘Good’ (0-50), ‘Satisfactory’ (50-100), ‘moderately polluted’ (100-200), ‘Poor’ (200-300), ‘Very Poor’ (300-400), and ‘Severe’ (400-500).

Source: https://indianexpress.com/article/explained/everyday-explainers/what-is-aqi-delhi-air-pollution-8253034/