Q. In 2001, ‘Shanghai-5’ was renamed as Shanghai Cooperation Organistion (SCO). Which among the following country was/were not part of Shanghai-5?
1. Uzbekistan
2. India
3. Tajikstan
4. Kazakistan
Select the correct answer using the codes given below:

[A] 1 and 2 only

[B] 2 and 3 only

[C] 1, 2 and 4 only

[D] 1 and 4 only

Answer: A

The Shanghai-5 consists of China, Kazakhstan, Kyrgyzstan, Russia and Tajikistan, and emerged from a series of border demarcation and demilitarization talks which the four former Soviet republics held with China. Since 1996, when the group held its first presidential summit meeting in Shanghai, the five-country group has held annual summits ever since.

In 2001, Uzbekistan joined the grouping and it was renamed as Shanghai Cooperation Organistion (SCO). In July 2015 in Ufa, Russia, the SCO decided to admit India and Pakistan as full members.

Observer states of SCO are Afghanistan, Belarus, Iran and Mongolia.

Source: ForumIAS