Q. “Neyyar, Peppara and Shendurney Wildlife Sanctuaries” are part of which of the following?

[A] Agasthyamalai biosphere reserve

[B] Nilgiri biosphere reserve

[C] Seshachalam Hills

[D] Panna biosphere reserve

Answer: A

Explanation: Biosphere reserves are sites established by countries and recognized under UNESCO’s Man and the Biosphere (MAB) Programme to promote sustainable development based on local community efforts and sound science. The programme of Biosphere Reserve was initiated by UNESCO in 1971.

The purpose of the formation of the biosphere reserve is to conserve in situ all forms of life, along with its support system, in its totality, so that it could serve as a referral system for monitoring and evaluating changes in natural ecosystems.

Source: http://www.wiienvis.nic.in/Database/br_8225.aspx