Q. The longitudinal valleys – duns are part of which of the following Himalayas?

[A] Kashmir Himalayas

[B] Purvanchal Himalayas

[C] Sikkim Himalayas

[D] Arunachal Himalayas

Answer: A

Explanation: Kashmir or Northwestern Himalayas comprise a series of ranges such as the Karakoram, Ladakh, Zaskar and Pir Panjal.

  • The northeastern part of the Kashmir Himalayas is a cold desert, which lies between the Greater Himalayas and the Karakoram ranges.
  • The southernmost part of this region consists of longitudinal valleys known as duns. Jammu dun and Pathankot dun are important examples.

Source: NCERT – Fundamental of Physical Geography