Q. “The Maastricht Treaty” is associated with which of the following?

[A] Commonwealth

[B] European Union

[C] African Union

[D] Gulf Cooperation council

Answer: B

Explanation: European Union is a political and economic union of 27 member states that are located primarily in Europe.

  • The United Kingdom withdrew from the European Union on 31 January 2020. The Maastricht Treaty established the European Union in 1993 and introduced European citizenship.
  • The latest major amendment to the constitutional basis of the EU, the Treaty of Lisbon, came into force in 2009.