Q. The temperate forests are called Sholas are found in which of the following region?

[A] North East Himalayan range

[B] Northern Himalayas

[C] Andaman and Nicobar Islands

[D] Western Ghats

Answer: D

Explanation: The southern mountain forests include the forests found in three distinct areas of Peninsular India viz; the Western Ghats, the Vindhyas and the Nilgiris.

  • As they are closer to the tropics, and only 1,500 m above the sea level, vegetation is temperate in the higher regions and subtropical on the lower regions of the Western Ghats, especially in Kerala, Tamil Nadu and Karnataka.
  • The temperate forests are called Sholas in the Nilgiris, Anaimalai and Palani hills.

Source: NCERT – Fundamental of Physical Geography