Q. The two volcanic islands in the Indian Territory are:

[A] Kavaratti and New Moor

[B] Bitra and Kavaratti

[C] Pamban and Barren

[D] Narcondam and Barren

Answer: D

A volcano is a rupture in the crust of a planetary-mass object, such as Earth, that allows hot lava, volcanic ash, and gases to escape from a magma chamber below the surface.

India’s only active volcano is located in Barren island of Andaman, which is also the only confirmed active volcano in South Asia.

Narcondam Island is classified as a dormant volcano by the Geological Survey of India. The Mountain house second tallest point in the Andaman and Nicobar Islands.

Source: NCERT