Q. Which among the following countries is not a member of Arab Monetary Fund?

[A] Iran

[B] Egypt

[C] Sudan

[D] Qatar

Answer: A


Arab Monetary Fund (AMF) is a regional Arab organisation, founded in 1976, and has started operations in 1977. Member Countries (22) are: Jordan, United Arab Emirates, Bahrain, Tunisia, Algeria, Djibouti, Saudi Arabia, Sudan, Syria, Somalia, Iraq, Oman, Palestine, Qatar, Comoros, Kuwait, Lebanon, Libya, Egypt, Morocco, Mauritania, Yemen.


  • The AMF aims at contributing to the achievement of the following objectives:
  • Correcting disequilibria in the balance of payments of member states.
  • Striving for the removal of restrictions on current payments between member states.
  • Establishing policies and modes of Arab monetary co-operation.
  • Rendering advice, whenever called upon to do so, with regard to policies related to the investment of the financial resources of member states in foreign markets.
  • Promoting the development of Arab financial markets.
  • Paving the way towards the creation of a unified Arab currency.
  • Settling current payments across member states to promote intra-trade.

Source: https://www.amf.org.ae/en/about-us