Q. Which among the following is not a constitutional body?

[A] Finance Commission

[B] Inter-State Council

[C] Zonal Council

[D] Election Commission

Answer: C


  • The Zonal Councils are the statutory (and not the constitutional) bodies.
  • They are established by an Act of the Parliament, that is, States Reorganisation Act of 1956.
  • The act divided the country into five zones (Northern, Central, Eastern, Western and Southern) and provided a zonal council for each zone.
  • While forming these zones, several factors have been taken into account which includes: the natural divisions of the country, the river systems and means of communication, the cultural and linguistic affinity and the requirements of economic development, security and law and order.

Source: Laxmikanth