Q. Which among the following is not one of Vedanga?

[A] Shiksha

[B] Jyotisha

[C] Yoga

[D] Kalpa

Answer: C

Explanation: Vedangas literally mean the limbs of the Vedas.

  • They are six in number. Just like the limbs of the body, they perform various supportive and augmenting functions in the study, preservation and protection of the Vedas and the vedic traditions.
  • The six Vedangas are Siksha, Chhanda, Vyakarana, Nirukta, Jyotisha and Kalpa.
  • Shiksha = phonetics,
  • Vyakarana = grammar,
  • Chandas = metre,
  • Nirukta = etymology,
  • Kalpa = ritual,
  • Jyotishya = astronomy

Source: Tamil Nadu Board