Q. Which among the following provision of Indian constitution is NOT came into force on November 26, 1949 itself?

[A] Provisional parliament

[B] Planning Commission

[C] Elections

[D] Citizenship

Answer: B
  • Some provisions of the Constitution pertaining to citizenship, elections, provisional parliament, temporary and transitional provisions, and short title contained in Articles 5, 6, 7, 8, 9, 60, 324, 366, 367, 379, 380, 388, 391, 392 and 393 came into force on November 26, 1949 itself.
  • The remaining provisions (the major part) of the Constitution came into force on January 26, 1950.
  • This day is referred to in the Constitution as the ‘date of its commencement’, and celebrated as the Republic Day.
  • January 26 was specifically chosen as the ‘date of commencement’ of the Constitution because of its historical importance.
  • It was on this day in 1930 that Purna Swaraj day was celebrated, following the resolution of the Lahore Session (December 1929) of the INC.
  • With the commencement of the Constitution, the Indian Independence Act of 1947 and the Government of India Act of 1935, with all enactments amending or supplementing the latter Act, were repealed.
  • The Abolition of Privy Council Jurisdiction Act (1949) was however continued.

Source: Source