Q. Which of the following forms the triratnas of Jainism?
1. Ahimsa
2. Right Knowledge
3. Right Conduct
Select the correct answer using the codes given below:

[A] 1 and 2 only

[B] 2 and 3 only

[C] 1 and 3 only

[D] 1, 2 and 3

Answer: B


The three principles of Jainism, also known as Triratnas (three gems), are:

  • right faith
  • right knowledge
  • right conduct.

Right faith is the belief in the teachings and wisdom of Mahavira. Right Knowledge is the acceptance of the theory that there is no God and that the world has been existing without a creator and that all objects possess a soul. Right conduct refers to the observance of the five great vows:

  • not to injure life
  • not to lie
  • not to steal
  • not to acquire property
  • not to lead immoral life.

Source: Tamil Nadu state Board Class 11