Q. Which of the following Indian State/s was/were accepted the subsidiary system?
Choose the correct answer from below given codes:

[A] 1 only

[B] 1 and 2 only

[C] 2 and 3 only

[D] 1, 2 and 3

Answer: D

Explanation: The Indian princes who accepted the subsidiary system were the Nizam of Hyderabad (September 1798 and 1800), the ruler of Mysore (1799), the ruler of Tanjore (October 1799).

  • The Nawab of Awadh (November 1801), the Peshwa (December 1801), the Bhonsle Raja of Berar (December 1803), the Sindhia (February 1804).
  • The Rajput states of Jodhpur, Jaipur, Macheri, Bundi and the ruler of Bharatpur (1818).
  • The Holkars were the last Maratha confederation to accept the Subsidiary Alliance in 1818.

Source: Spectrum Modern India