Q. Which of the following is/are come/s under the appellate jurisdiction?
1.Appeals in constitutional matters.
2.Appeals in criminal matters.
3.Appeals by special leave.
Choose the correct answer from below given codes:

[A] 1 only

[B] 1 and 2 only

[C] 2 and 3 only

[D] 1, 2 and 3

Answer: D

Explanation: The Supreme Court has not only succeeded the Federal Court of India but also replaced the British Privy Council as the highest court of appeal.

The Supreme Court is primarily a court of appeal and hears appeals against the judgments of the lower courts.

It enjoys a wide appellate jurisdiction which can be classified under four heads:

  • Appeals in constitutional matters.
  • Appeals in civil matters.
  • Appeals in criminal matters.
  • Appeals by special leave.

Source: Laxmikanth Polity