Q. Which of the following is/are consist/s of Parliament?
1.The President
2.The Council of States
3.The House of People
Choose the correct answer from below given codes:

[A] 1 only

[B] 1 and 2 only

[C] 2 and 3 only

[D] 1, 2 and 3

Answer: D

Explanation: Under the Constitution, the Parliament of India consists of three parts viz, the President, the Council of States and the House of the People.

  • In 1954, the Hindi names ‘Rajya Sabha’ and ‘Lok Sabha’ were adopted by the Council of States and the House of People respectively.
  • The Rajya Sabha is the Upper House (Second Chamber or House of Elders) and the Lok Sabha is the Lower House (First Chamber or Popular House).
  • The former represents the states and union territories of the Indian Union, while the latter represents the people of India as a whole.

Source: Laxmikanth Polity