Q. Which of the following is NOT a member country of QUAD?

[A] New Zealand

[B] Australia

[C] Japan

[D] India

Answer: A

Explanation: The Quadrilateral Group consists of India, Australia, Japan and the U.S. It aims to strengthen the defence and security cooperation amongst the four countries.

  • The idea was originally conceived in 2007 by the former Japan’s Prime Minister, Shinzō Abe. It was proposed to check China’s growing influence and assertiveness in the Indo-Pacific region.
  • It has a shared objective to ensure and support a “free, open and prosperous” Indo-Pacific region.