Q. Which of the following member/s is/are participating President Election?
1.Elected members of Lok Sabha
2.Nominated members of Rajya Sabha
3.Members of state legislative councils
Choose the correct answer from below given codes:

[A] 1 only

[B] 1 and 2 only

[C] 2 and 3 only

[D] 1, 2 and 3

Answer: A

Explanation: The President is elected not directly by the people but by members of Electoral College consisting of:

  • The elected members of both the Houses of Parliament;
  • The elected members of the legislative assemblies of the states; and
  • The elected members of the legislative assemblies of the Union Territories of Delhi and Puducherry.

Thus, the nominated members of both of Houses of Parliament, the nominated members of the state legislative assemblies, the members (both elected and nominated) of the state legislative councils (in case of the bicameral legislature) and the nominated members of the Legislative Assemblies of Delhi and Puducherry do not participate in the election of the President.

Where an assembly is dissolved, the members cease to be qualified to vote in presidential election, even if fresh elections to the dissolved assembly are not held before the presidential election.

Source: Laxmikanth Polity