Q. Which of the following pairs of Sher Shah’s administration is/are correctly matched?
Term                 Meaning
1. Fotedar           Treasurer
2. Amin               Land revenue
3. Shiqdar           Accountant
4. Karkuns           Military Officer
Select the correct answer using the codes given below:

[A] 1 and 3 only

[B] 2 and 4 only

[C] 1 and 2 only

[D] 3 and 4 only

Answer: C


  • Sher Shah’s empire was divided into forty seven sarkars.
  • Chief Shiqdar (law and order) and Chief Munsif (judge) were the two officers in charge of the administration in each sarkar. Each sarkar was divided into several parganas. Shiqdar (military officer), Amin (land revenue), Fotedar (treasurer) Karkuns (accountants) were in charge of the administration of each pargana.
  • There were also many administrative units called iqtas.

Source: Tamil Nadu Board Class 11