Q. Which of the following power/s is/are provided to parliament under Article 3?
1.Increase the area of any state.
2.Diminish the area of any state.
3.Alter the boundaries of any state.
Choose the correct answer from below given codes:

[A] 1 only

[B] 1 and 2 only

[C] 2 and 3 only

[D] 1, 2 and 3

Answer: D

Explanation: Article 3 authorizes the Parliament to:

(a) form a new state by separation of territory from any state or by uniting two or more states or parts of states or by uniting any territory to a part of any state;

(b) increase the area of any state;

(c) diminish the area of any state;

(d) alter the boundaries of any state; and

(e) alter the name of any state.

Source: Laxmikanth’s Polity