Q. Which of the following rights are covered under Forest Rights Act, 2006?
1. Title Rights
2. Use Rights
3. Relief & Development Rights
4. Forest Management Rights
5. Agriculture rights
Select the correct answer using the codes given below:

[A] 1, 2, 3, 4 and 5

[B] 2, 3 and 5 only

[C] 1, 3 and 5 only

[D] 1, 2, 3 and 4 only

Answer: D

The Forest Rights Act (FRA), 2006 recognizes the rights of the forest dwelling tribal communities and other traditional forest dwellers to forest resources, on which these communities were dependent for a variety of needs, including livelihood, habitation and other socio-cultural needs. 

The forest management policies, including the Acts, Rules and Forest Policies of Participatory Forest Management policies in both colonial and post-colonial India, did not, till the enactment of this Act, recognize the symbiotic relationship of the STs with the forests, reflected in their dependence on the forest as well as in their traditional wisdom regarding conservation of the forests. 

The act identifies four types of rights: 

  • Title rights 
  • Use rights 
  • Relief and development rights 
  • Forest management rights 

Source: https://tribal.nic.in/fra.aspx. 

Environment – Conservation – Legislat