Q. Which of the following river is known as “Dakshin Ganga”?

[A] Krishna

[B] Cauvery

[C] Godavari

[D] Narmada

Answer: C


  • The Godavari is the largest Peninsular River system. It is also called the Dakshin Ganga.
  • It rises in the Nasik district of Maharashtra and discharges its water into the Bay of Bengal.
  • Its tributaries run through the states of Maharashtra, Madhya Pradesh, Chhattisgarh, Odisha and Andhra Pradesh.
  • It is 1,465 km long with a catchment area spreading over 3.13 lakh sq. km 49 per cent of this, lies in Maharashtra, 20 per cent in Madhya Pradesh and Chhattisgarh, and the rest in Andhra Pradesh.

Source: Class 11th NCERT