Q. Which of the following rivers is not included in ‘Panchnad’?

[A] Satluj

[B] Ravi

[C] Indus

[D] Jhelum

Answer: C

Explanation: The Indus System

  • The Indus receives a number of Himalayan tributaries such as the Shyok, the Gilgit, the Zaskar, the Hunza, the Nubra, the Shigar, the Gasting and the Dras.
  • It finally emerges out of the hills near Attock where it receives the Kabul River on its right bank.
  • The other important tributaries joining the right bank of the Indus are the Khurram, the Tochi, the Gomal, the Viboa and the Sangar. They all originate in the Sulaiman ranges.
  • The river flows southward and receives ‘Panjnad’ a little above Mithankot. The Panjnad is the name given to the five rivers of Punjab, namely the Satluj, the Beas, the Ravi, the Chenab and the Jhelum.
  • It finally discharges into the Arabian Sea, east of Karachi.
  • The Indus flows in India only through Jammu and Kashmir.

Source: Class 11th NCERT