Q. Which of the following statement about Atharva Veda is correct?

[A] It is composed in Musical Notes.

[B] It contains detailed rituals and hymns.

[C] It is the earliest vedic text.

[D] It contains charms and magical spells.

Answer: D

Explanation: Vedic Literature:

  • The word ‘Veda’ is derived from the root ‘vid’, which means to know. In other words, the term ‘Veda’ signifies ‘superior knowledge’. The Vedic literature consists of the four Vedas – Rig, Yajur, Sama and Atharva.
  • The Rig Veda is the earliest of the four Vedas and it consists of 1028 hymns. The hymns were sung in praise of various gods. The Yajur Veda consists of various details of rules to be observed at the time of sacrifice.
  • The Sama Veda is set to tune for the purpose of chanting during sacrifice. It is called the book of chants and the origins of Indian music are traced in it. The Atharva Veda contains details of rituals.

Source: Tamil Nadu Board Class 11