Q. Which of the following states/provinces were covered under the Subsidiary Alliance of British?
1. Bengal Province
2. Hyderabad state
3. Tanjore
4. Mysore
Select the correct answer using the code given below:

[A] 1, 2 and 3 only

[B] 1 and 2 only

[C] 2, 3 and 4 only

[D] 1, 2, 3 and 4

Answer: C

The Indian princes who accepted the subsidiary system were: the Nizam of Hyderabad (September 1798 and 1800), the ruler of Mysore (1799), the ruler of Tanjore (October 1799), the Nawab of Awadh (November 1801), the Peshwa (December 1801), the Bhonsle Raja of Berar (December 1803), the Sindhia (February 1804), the Rajput states of Jodhpur, Jaipur, Macheri, Bundi and the ruler of Bharatpur (1818).  

The Holkars were the last Maratha confederation to accept the Subsidiary Alliance in 1818. 

Source: Spectrum Modern India.