Q. Which of the following steel plant is NOT established as part of second five year plan?

[A] Rourkela Steel Plant

[B] Bhilai Steel Plant

[C] Durgapur Steel Plant

[D] Tata Iron and Steel plant

Answer: D

Explanation: After independence, during the Second Five Year Plan (1956-61), three new integrated steel plants were set up with foreign collaboration: Rourkela in Odisha, Bhilai in Chhattisgarh and Durgapur in West Bengal.

These were public sector plants under Hindustan Steel Limited (HSL). In 1973, the Steel Authority of India Limited (SAIL) was created to manage these plants.

Source: NCERT – India People & Economy