Q. Which one of the following did NOT serve as Vice President before assuming the office of the President of India?

[A] Dr. Shankar Dayal Sharma

[B] Neelam Sanjiva Reddy

[C] Dr. Zakir Hussain

[D] R. Venkatraman

Answer: B

Explanation: Vice President:

  • In India, Vice-President has the second-highest office in the country.
  • Article 63 of the Indian Constitution mentions the post of Vice-President.
  • There is no direct election for the Vice-President of India however, he/she is indirectly elected by an Electoral College.
  • He acts as the ex-officio Chairman of Rajya Sabha.
Vice PresidentTermTerm of President
Sarvepalli Radhakrishnan1952-19621962-1967
Zakir Hussain1962-19671967-1969
V. V. Giri1967-19691969-1974
Gopal Swarup Pathak1969-1974Not became president
B. D. Jatti1974-1979Not became president
Mohammad Hidayatullah1979-19841969 (Acting President)
R. Venkataraman1984-19871987-1992
Shankar Dayal Sharma1987-19921992-1997
K. R. Narayanan1992-19971997-2002
Krishan Kant1997-2002Not became president
Bhairon Singh Shekhawat2002-2007Not became president
Mohammad Hamid Ansari2007-2017Not became president
Venkaiah Naidu2017-IncumbentNot became president
  • From the table, it is clear that Neelam Sanjiva Reddy did NOT serve as Vice President before assuming the office of the President of India.
  • The only unopposed President of India, Neelam Sanjiva Reddy became the President in 1977.
  • He was elected on 21 July 1977 and was sworn in as the sixth President of India on 25 July 1977.
  • Reddy worked with three governments, with Prime Ministers Morarji Desai, Charan Singh, and Indira Gandhi.
  • He was also the first chief minister of Andhra Pradesh, credited with the architecture and modernization of the state.
  • He participated in various freedom struggles against the British and was imprisoned several times.

Source: Laxmikanth