Q. Which one of the following kingdom was situated on the banks of the river Yamuna, and its capital was Kausambi near modern Allahabad?

[A] Avanti

[B] Kosala

[C] Magadha

[D] Vatsa

Answer: D


  • The Buddhist literature Anguttara Nikaya gives a list of sixteen great kingdoms called ‘Sixteen Mahajanapadas’. They were Anga, Magadha, Kasi, Kosala, Vajji, Malla, Chedi, Vatsa, Kuru, Panchala, Matsya, Surasena, Asmaka, Avanti, Gandhara and Kambhoja.
  • The Jain texts also contain references to the existence of sixteen kingdoms. In course of time, the small and weak kingdoms either submitted to the stronger rulers or gradually got eliminated.
  • Finally in the mid 6th century B.C., only four kingdoms – Vatsa, Avanti, Kosala and Magadha survived.

Vatsa: The Vatsa kingdom was situated on the banks of the river Yamuna.

  • Its capital was Kausambi near modern Allahabad. Its most popular ruler was Udayana.
  • He strengthened his position by entering into matrimonial alliances with Avanti, Anga and Magadha. After his death, Vatsa was annexed to the Avanti kingdom.

Source: Tamil Nadu state Board Class 11