Q. Which one of the following pairs of islands is separated from each other by the ‘Ten Degree Channel’?

[A] Andaman and Nicobar

[B] Nicobar and Sumatra

[C] Maldives and Lakshadweep

[D] Sumatra and Java

Answer: A

Eight Degree channel: The maritime boundary between the Maldives and India runs through the Eight Degree Channel. It separates the islands of Minicoy and Maldives.

Nine Degree channel: It separates the island of Minicoy from the main Lakshadweep archipelago.

Ten Degree channel: It separates the Andaman Islands and the Nicobar Islands from each other in the Bay of Bengal.

Source: The Hindu