Q. Who among the following is the competent authority to declare certain areas as wildlife sanctuaries?

[A] Central Government

[B] State Government

[C] National Green Tribunal

[D] Gram Sabha

Answer: B

Explanation: The Wild Life (Protection) Act of 1972 provided for the declaration of certain areas by the State Government as wildlife sanctuaries if the area was thought to be of adequate ecological, geo-morphological and natural significance.

Source: SHANKAR IAS Environment