Q. Who among the following was called as fifth veda?

[A] Tirukkural

[B] Melkannakku

[C] Kilkanakku

[D] Tolkappiyam

Answer: A

Explanation: Sangam literature can be divided into two groups: narrative and didactic. The narrative texts are called Melkannakku (18 Major Works consisting of eight anthologies and ten idylls) and are considered works of heroic poetry in which heroes are glorified and perpetual wars and cattle raids are frequently mentioned.

The didactic works are called Kilkanakku (18 Minor Works). Many Tamil didactic works such as Tiruvalluvar’s Tirukkural (famous work on ethics, philosophy, polity, and love, and considered the fifth Veda of Tamil Nadu).

Source: Poonam Dahiya