Q. Who among the following was called “liberator of the Indian press”?

[A] Charles Metcalfe

[B] Lord Lytton

[C] Lord Wellesley

[D] John Marshall

Answer: A

Explanation: Metcalfe (governor-general—1835-36) repealed the obnoxious 1823 ordinance and earned the epithet, “liberator of the Indian press”.

  • The new Press Act (1835) required a printer/publisher to give a precise account of premises of a publication and cease functioning, if required by a similar declaration.
  • The result of a liberal press policy was a rapid growth of newspapers.

Source: Spectrum Modern India